When someone leaves your organisation, it is important that their NHSmail account is closed otherwise they will still be able to access confidential information. It is best practice for individuals to take responsibility for their own accounts but there is also information below on how to do this on their behalf.

Nominating yourself as a leaver – contacting the Social Care Admin team

It is best practice for individuals to take responsibility for their own accounts. If you are leaving your organisation and are not moving to another social care organisation:

  • email careadmin@nhs.net and ask for your account to be closed.
  • You will be marked as a leaver and the account will be deleted in 30 days.

If you are leaving your organisation and moving to another social care organisation:

  • email careadmin@nhs.net and ask for your account to be closed.
  • tell your new organisation to contact careadmin@nhs.net and ask for your account to be marked as a joiner. They should request that your email address is given access to their shared mailbox.
  • tell your current organisation’s shared mailbox owner, so that they can ask careadmin@nhs.net to remove your account from the shared mailbox.

If you are the shared mailbox owner:

  • Contact careadmin@nhs.net and ask for your account to be closed. Tell them who will be taking over as the mailbox owner.

Requesting that an NHSmail account is closed

If you have access to the Shared Mailbox, you can request that other NHSmail accounts are closed when people leave your organisation. Accounts should be closed as soon as possible when someone leaves your organisation and as a minimum in line with your movers and leavers policy.

To close an account:

  1. Log in to NHSmail
  2. Open your shared mailbox
  3. Email careadmin@nhs.net and provide the name and email address of the individual who is leaving.

The account will be marked as a “leaver” and deleted in 30 days.